The library is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees.  Seven trustees are appointed by the Mayor of Menasha with Common Council approval.  One of those seven is the Menasha Joint School District Superintendent of Schools or his/her appointee.  An eighth trustee is appointed by the Winnebago County Executive with County Board approval. And a teen representative is appointed by the Library Director with approval by the Library Board of Trustees.

The Elisha D. Smith Public Library Board of Trustees meets the fourth Wednesday of each month at 4:00pm in the library's lower level Gegan Room.  The public is invited to attend. Those with special needs are encouraged to call the library office at 967.3662, within 24 hours of the event, to assure that specific needs with regards to parking, building and meeting room accessibility are met.

Board Agendas

Board Minutes

Library Policies:

Strategic Plan


  • Chairman of the Board: James C. Englebert
  • Vice Chairman:  Robert W. Golz
  • Secretary:  Jill Halverson
  • Menasha Joint School District Superintendent Chris VanderHeyden
  • Jill Hermans (ad hoc)
  • Christina S. Turner
  • Cynthia Witt (Winnebago County Representative)
  • David Schwerbel
  • Joseph Franzoi (Winnebago County Representative)
  • Carrie Lane
  • Jacquelyn White (Teen Representative)